Notice of race

Walker Challenge

Sunday 28th June 2015


Ramsgate to Harwich

EAORA Offshore Regatta
EAORA Overall Series
EAORA Youth Programme Race


Organising authority
East Anglian Offshore Racing Association, Royal Temple Yacht Club & Haven Ports Yacht Club.

Prize giving:
At Haven Port Yacht Club immediately after the race.

High water:
Ramsgate 0929 BST 5.6M and 2151 BST 3.4M Harwich

General conditions for entry:
All Entrants must comply with the requirments of all the EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1.

ISAF Special Regulations Category 3 with a Category 2 Life Raft.

Warning signals:
Class 3 0755 BST; Class 2 0805 BST; Class 1 0815 BST. Refer to EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1 for the Class Handicaps.

Start Line:
The Start Line is an extension to seaward of the forward mast of the RTYC Squarehead, on the eastern pierhead next to Port Control, marked by an orange triangle, and the red port entry mark at the end of the southern breakwater, bounded by the ODM, in the event of the ODM missing, the end of the line shall be a transit between the North Quern and West Quern Buoys.

Course A:
North Quern (S), Channel Buoys No. 6, No.4, No.2 (P); Broadstairs Knoll (P); Elbow (P); Outer Fisherman (P); Black Deep No. 8 (S); Sunk Head Tower (P); N.E. Gunfleet (P); Medusa (S); Landguard (S) Cliff Foot (S); Finish

Finish Line:
A line between the foremast of the Committee Vessel and the Harwich Town Sailing Club’s Beacon Hill racing mark (located approximately 2 cables north of the seaward end of Dovercourt breakwater).
If there is no Committee Vessel on station at the finish, all yachts must record their own finish time when the Harwich Town Sailing Club’s Beacon Hill racing mark bears 270° from the bow of the yacht when the yacht is passing the buoy to port. The timepiece used to record the finish time should be acknowledged by the Race Officer and if necessary checked against an official clock.

Walker Challenge Cup (1st Overall)

Entries Close:
Thursday 18th June 2015

1183; 2449; 1406 or Imray C1 C8

Entry fee:
£50 if entering this race only. Refer to the Offshore Regatta Notice of Race for the other races and entry fees Late entries accepted at the discretion of the Organising Authority.
Electronic Payment to EAORA - Sort Code: 20-54-30 - Account: 90347035 (Reference – Race & Boat Name)

When entering the River Orwell/Harwich Harbour all competitors must follow the yachting track advised by Harwich Haven Authority and not Race within the Deep Water Channel.
When leaving Ramsgate Harbour the Deep Water Channel should be avoided if at all possible.
To enter (or leave) Ramsgate Harbour permission must be sought from Port Control on VHF Channel 14

Race HQ: Prior to 25th June 2015
EAORA Secretary, Burnham Yacht Harbour, Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex, CM0 8BL,

Race HQ:From 25th June 2015
Principle Committee Vessel accompanying the race fleet.
See the Offshore Regatta Notice of Race for details.

Return to race programme

Call 01227 792979
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 01621 785600
Contact via email
Website URL
Website URL