Notice of race

Stroombank Race


Saturday 25th July 2015

Harwich to Ramsgate

EAORA Overall Series
EAORA Youth Programme Race

Organising authority
Haven Series and East Anglian Offshore Racing Association

Royal Temple Yacht Club after the finish.

High Water:
Harwich 06.32 BST 3.08M and Ramsgate 18.53 BST 4.09M

General Conditions for Entry:
All Entrants must comply with the requirements of the EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1.

ISAF Special Regulations Category 3 with a Category 2 Life Raft.

Warning Signals:
All classes 07.25 with a single start at 07.30 BST

IRC; Haven Handicap; EAORA Classes 1, 2 & 3 will be extracted from the overall results and recast.

Start Line:
A line between a staff with an orange flag on the Committee Vessel (located approximately 1 cable to the east of the buoy) and the Beacon Hill buoy (located approximately 2 cables north of the seaward end of Dovercourt breakwater). The line is to be crossed in a southerly direction.

Course: The course is as follows: 
Cliff Foot (P), Landguard (P), Medusa (P), N.E. Gunfleet (S), Sunk Head Tower (S), Black Deep No. 8 (P), Outer Fisherman (S), Elbow (S), East Brake (S), Ramsgate Channel buoys 2 & 4 (passing marks) to (S), North Quern (P) & Finish.
Finish Line: The finishing line, which runs 298° magnetic, is a transit formed by the Race Hut Flag Mast on the East Pierhead and the North Quern Buoy, The inner distance is Ramsgate Channel Buoy No.6 which may not be on the line. Yachts should take their finishing time when the North Quern, North Cardinal Mark bears 118° magnetic.

Competitors must record their own finishing time on their declaration form and hand to the Afloat Race Officer at the first opportunity. Finish times can be passed beforehand by VHF or mobile phone.

North Quern (North Cardinal mark) leave to Port 51° 19.41’N 01° 26.11’E
No. 6 (Port Hand Mark) leave to Starboard 51° 19.46’N 01° 25.91’E

Please call Ramsgate Port Control on VHF14 for permission to enter the Harbour.

All EAORA and Haven Series entries with valid IRC Certificates will compete for the Strutt & Parker Trophy on their IRC TCC. All Haven Passage Series entries will compete for the Stroombank Trophy on their Haven Handicap. Glassware.

Entries Close:
Friday 17th July 2015

3750, 1975 and 3741 or Imray C1

Entry Fee:
£45.00 - Late entries accepted at the discretion of the Organising Authority. The entry fee includes berthing for the Saturday night. Cheques should be made out to 'The Haven Series' and posted to the Haven Series Secretary at 17 Beach Lane, Alderton, Woodbridge, Suffolk IP12 3BU

Competitors must remain out of the Deep Water & South channel on the exit of Harwich Harbour. Competitors are advised to keep well clear of deep draught commercial vessels and stay within the recommended yacht tracks and avoid crossing the bows of oncoming traffic. Monitor VHF channel 71 at all times when within and approaching Harwich Harbour. VHF channel 14 should also be monitored when transiting in the area of the Sunk Light Vessel. It is of the utmost importance that it is stressed that yachts should not in any way impede the progress of vessels in this area, as they are in the process of embarking/disembarking a Pilot.

Race HQ:
Haven Series Secretary, Secretary, Fiona Meikle; 17 Beach Lane, Alderton, Woodbridge, Suffolk IP12 3BU
Telephone: 01394 410495 Email:

Afloat Race Officer:
An “Afloat Race Officer” will be designated to receive declarations and/or protests, and for co-ordination and communication purposes. Details will be repeated on VHF Channel 72 before the start.

Return to race programme

Call 01621 773428
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 01227 792979
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 01732 223650
Contact via email
Website URL