Notice of race

Cannon Ball Trophy

Saturday 13th July 2019

Organising authority
East Anglian Offshore Racing Association




Oostende to Ramsgate

EAORA Overall Series

EAORA Offshore Regatta

Organising Authority: East Anglian Offshore Racing Association, Royal Temple Yacht Club & Royal North Sea Yacht Club, Ostend

Prize giving: At the Royal Temple Yacht Club as soon as possible after the race finishes.

High Water: Ostend: 1038 BST 4.6M (add 1 hour for Belgium Summer time); Ramsgate: 2215 BST 4.3M

General Conditions for Entries: All Entrants must comply with the requirements of the EAORA Notice of Race Part 1.

Safety: World Sailing Special Regulations Category 3 plus Category 2 Life Raft.

Warning Signals: The first warning signal will be at 0755 BST Refer to the EAORA Notice of Race Part 1 for Class handicaps.

Start Line: A Line between the main mast of the Committee Vessel and a designated Buoy immediately outside the Oostende Harbour entrance. This Buoy position will be broadcast on VHF72 at least 1 hour prior to the start of the race. Yachts should start in a direction indicated by the Committee Vessel. The Committee Vessel may set an inner limit mark in which case this must be similarly observed as part of the said Committee Vessel.

Course A: FIRST MARK (?); Buiten Ratel Buoy (BT Ratel) (S); Ruytingen NW (S); South Falls (P); Goodwin Knoll (P), Finish (59 miles) The First Mark will be provided by the Race Officer at Oostende.

Course B: FIRST MARK (?); Middlekerke Bank (P); Ruytingen East (S); Sandettia North (P); Goodwin Knoll (P), Finish (approximately 57 Nmiles) The First Mark will be provided by the Race Officer at Oostende.

Course C: This course will be provided by the Race Officer at Oostende – please ensure you contact the committee boat prior to leaving the marina.

Finish Line: The Finish Line runs 120° magnetic from North Quern to the Race Hut Flag Mast. Number 6 which may not be on the finish line is an inner distance mark. Yachts should take their finishing time when North Quern bears 300° magnetic (reciprocal of the bearing above – although this is immaterial as the boats will finish as soon as their bow reaches the mark). Please take note of how close the North Quern is to the Quern Bank. Trophies: Cannon Ball Trophy; EAORA Glassware

Entries Close: Thursday 04th July 2019

Charts: 1975; 1406; 1872; 1873 & Imray C30

ENTRY FEE: £75 if entering this race only, includes one night berth at Ramsgate. Refer to the Offshore Regatta Notice of Race for the other races and entry fees Late entries accepted at the discretion of the Organising Authority. Electronic Payment to EAORA - Sort Code: 20-54-30 - Account: 90347035 (Reference – Race & Boat Name)

Race HQ: Prior to 10th July 2019 - EAORA Chairman, Equity House, 4-6 Market Street, Old Harlow, Essex CM17 0AH Email:

After 10th July 2019 - Principle Committee Vessel accompanying the race fleet. See the Offshore Regatta Sailing Instructions for details.

Return to race programme

Call 0845 450 5555
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 01227 792979
Contact via email
Website URL
Website URL