Notice of race

Walker Challenge Cup


Sunday 24th June 2018

This is the third race in the Offshore Regatta series starting at Ramsgate and finishing at Harwich. Followed by Regatta Prize giving in the Haven Ports Yacht Club.

Organising authority
East Anglian Offshore Racing Association Royal Temple Yacht Club Haven Ports Yacht Club



SUNDAY 24th JUNE 2018                                                                                          


Ramsgate to Harwich

EAORA Offshore Regatta

EAORA Overall Series

EAORA Youth Programme Race


Organising Authority:

East Anglian Offshore Racing Association,

Royal Temple Yacht Club & Haven Ports Yacht Club.


Prize giving: At Haven Ports Yacht Club, immediately after the race.


High water:  Ramsgate; 0937 BST 4.3M      Low Water: Harwich; 1541 BST 0.9M

 General conditions for entry: All Entrants must comply with the requirments of all the EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1.

 Safety: ISAF Special Regulations Category 3 with a Category 2 Life Raft.

 Warning signals:  Class 3 0855 BST; Class 2 0905 BST; Class 1 0915 BST. (EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1 for the Class Handicaps).

 Start Line:  The Start Line is an extension to seaward of the forward mast of the RTYC Squarehead, on the eastern pierhead next to Port Control, marked by an orange triangle, and the red port entry mark at the end of the southern breakwater, bounded by the ODM, in the event of the ODM missing, the end of the line shall be a transit between the North Quern and West Quern Buoys. 

 Course A:  Channel Buoy No. 6 (P);North Quern (S);Channel Buoy No. 4 (P);Channel Buoy No. 2 (P);Channel Buoy No. 1 (P);Broadstairs Knoll (P); Elbow (P); Outer Fisherman (P); Black Deep No. 8 (S); Sunk Head Tower (P); N.E. Gunfleet (P); Medusa (S); Landguard (S) Cliff Foot (S); Finish (51Nmiles approximately)

Finish Line: A line between the foremast of the Committee Vessel and the Harwich Town Sailing Club’s Beacon Hill racing mark (located approximately 2 cables north of the seaward end of Dovercourt breakwater).

If there is no Committee Vessel on station at the finish, all yachts must record their own finish time when the Harwich Town Sailing Club’s Beacon Hill racing mark bears 270° from the bow of the yacht as the yacht is leaving the buoy to port. The timepiece used to record the finish time should be acknowledged by the Race Officer and if necessary checked against an official clock.

Trophies:          Walker Trophy (1st Overall); HPYC Trophies & Glassware

Entries Close:   Thursday 19th June 2018

Charts:              1183; 2449; 1406 or Imray C1 C8

Entry: 65 if entering this race only. Refer to the Offshore Regatta Notice of Race for the other races and entry fees   Late entries accepted at the discretion of the Organising Authority.

Electronic Payment to EAORA - Sort Code: 20-54-30 - Account: 90347035 (Reference – Race & Boat Name)

 Notes: When entering the River Orwell/Harwich Harbour all competitors must follow the yachting track advised by Harwich Haven Authority and not Race within the Deep-Water Channel. Moniter Channel 71

When leaving Ramsgate Harbour the Deep-Water Channel should be avoided if at all possible. To enter (or leave) Ramsgate Harbour permission must be sought from Port Control on VHF Channel 14

Race HQ: Prior to 20th June 2018  EAORA Chairman, Equity House, 4-6 Market Street, Old Harlow, Essex, CM17 0AH,     Email:

 Race HQ: After 20th June 2018 - Principle Committee Vessel accompanying the race fleet. See the Offshore Regatta Notice of Race for details.

Privacy Policy

When you provide us with your personal information to interact with our racing we imply that you consent to our collecting it and using it for that specific reason only of you racing your boat. To protect your personal information, we take reasonable precautions and follow industry best practices to make sure that it is not appropriately lost, misused, accessed, disclosed, altered or destroyed.  We do NOT sell your data for marketing purposes.

We will only disclose your personal information to yacht clubs of whom are the Organising Authority for our Offshore races.

Full details our Privacy Policy is available at:

Return to race programme

Call 01473 659465
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 01473 655089
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 0845 450 5555
Contact via email
Website URL