Notice of race

Graham Wallis Race & RORC East Coast Race 2018

Thursday 21st June 2018

This is the first race in a series of three that make up the Offshore Regatta. This race starts the regatta with 85 mile race from Harwich to Oostende. For 2018 it is also the RORC East Coast Race.

Organising authority
East Anglia Offshore Racing Association Haven Ports Yacht Club Royal North Sea Yacht Club Royal Temple Yacht Club





Harwich to Ostend

RORC East Coast Race

EAORA Overall Series

EAORA Offshore Regatta


Organising Authority:

East Anglian Offshore Racing Association. Haven Ports Yacht Club

& Royal North Sea Yacht Club, Ostend.

Prize giving: At the Royal North Sea Yacht Club after the race on Friday 22nd June

 High Water:         Harwich; 0638 BST  3.7M          Oostende; 0838 BST 4.4M and 2005 4.2M (add 1 hour for Belgium Summer time)    

 General Conditions for Entries:  All Entrants must comply with the requirements of the EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1.

Safety:  ISAF Special Regulations Category 3 with a Category 2 Life Raft.

 Warning Signals:  Class III 0655 BST; Class II 0705BST; Class I 0715BST. Refer to the EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1 for Class Handicaps.

Start Line:   A line between the foremast of the Committee Vessel and the Harwich Town Sailing Club’s Beacon Hill racing mark (located approximately 2 cables north of the seaward end of Dovercourt breakwater).

 Course A:  Cliff Foot (P); Landguard (P); Medusa (P); S. Cork (P); North East Gunfleet (S); Black Deep (S); Long Sand Head (S); Twin (S); Middelkerke Bank (S); Oostendebank-West buoy (P); Buitenstroombank buoy (S); Finish Line.

 Course B: The Course will be announced on VHF channel 72 at least 30 minutes prior to the time check signal.

 Finish Line:  The Finish Line is a line extending from the O3 Buoy (Green) to the Binnestroombank Buoy. Yachts must record their own time when crossing the line with the Binnenstroom Bank Buoy bearing 225° M. (For reference: The approximate position of the Binnenstroombank Buoy is 51 14’.47N 02 53’.65E)

 AREAS THAT ARE OBSTRUCTIONS A yacht shall not enter an area designated as an obstruction.


Co-ordinates of Vertices  (Latitude/Longitude (WGS84) or Description

TSS – Sunk Traffic Separation Scheme South

A – 51 42.09N / 01 43.05E

B - 51 42.38N / 01 50.08E


C - 51 38.17N / 01 43.45E

D - 51 38.45N / 01 50.48E

 Trophies:               Graham Wallis Trophy and EAORA Glassware and  RORC East Coast Race Trophies

 Entries Close: Thursday 14th June 2018

 Charts:   1975; 1406; 1872; 1873 and Imray C1,C30

 ENTRY FEE:   £65 if entering this race only, includes mooring fee at Ostend. Refer to the Offshore Regatta Notice of Race for the other races and entry fees   Late entries accepted at the discretion of the Organising Authority.

 Electronic Payment to EAORA - Sort Code: 20-54-30 - Account: 90347035  (Reference – Race & Boat Name)

 Race HQ:  Prior to 20th June 2018

  EAORA chairman, Equity House, 4-6 Market Street, Old Harlow, Essex, CM17 0AH


 Race HQ:  After 20th June 2018

Principle Committee Vessel accompanying the race fleet.

See the Offshore Regatta Notice of Race for details.

Privacy Policy

When you provide us with your personal information to interact with our racing we imply that you consent to our collecting it and using it for that specific reason only of you racing your boat. To protect your personal information, we take reasonable precautions and follow industry best practices to make sure that it is not appropriately lost, misused, accessed, disclosed, altered or destroyed.  We do NOT sell your data for marketing purposes.

We will only disclose your personal information to yacht clubs of whom are the Organising Authority for our Offshore races.

Full details our Privacy Policy is available at:

Return to race programme

Call 01732 223650
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 0845 450 5555
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 01621 785600
Contact via email
Website URL