Notice of race

Britannia Trophy Race


Saturday 15th August 2015

Harwich to Lowestoft

EAORA Overall Series
EAORA Youth Programme Race

Organising authority
Haven Series, Royal Harwich Yacht Club & East Anglian Offshore Racing Association

Royal Norfolk & Suffolk Yacht Club after the finish.

High Water:
Harwich 13.21 BST 3.77M and Lowestoft 23.12 BST 2.34M

General Conditions for Entry:
All Entrants must comply with the requirements of the EAORA Sailing Instructions Part 1.

ISAF Special Regulations Category 4

Warning Signals:
All classes 08.55 with a single start at 09.00 BST

IRC; Haven Handicap; EAORA Classes 1, 2 & 3 will be extracted from the overall results and recast.

Start Line:
The start line will be the line between the Wadgate Ledge Beacon and a staff with an orange flag on the committee boat, approximately 1 cable to the west of the beacon. The line is to be crossed in a north-easterly direction.
If the race is started in inclement weather or other exceptional circumstance a competing boat may be used as a committee boat and will be given the due time allowance.

The course is as follows: Special Mark FL(5)Y.20s (S), East Barnard (P); Newcombe Sand (P); South Holm (S); Stanford (P); South West Holm (S); North Newcombe (P) finish. (see Notes below).

Special Mark FL(5)Y.20s (52°18.9’N 001°47.0’E) is approx. 4nm East of entrance to Southwold.
Competitors are advised that a dangerous wreck exists in a position approximately 335(T) 1.8 cables from Wadgate Ledge Beacon.
Finish Line: The finishing line at Lowestoft is formed by a line bearing 265 degrees magnetic to the North Newcombe Buoy and within 2 boat lengths of the buoy.

Competitors must note their own finishing time together with the names of the boats finishing ahead and astern of them if in sight. Times shall be corrected to GPS time indicating BST or GMT as applicable.

After finishing: Refer to a current almanac for pilotage information, entry requirements etc. – note that it is now MANDATORY to call on VHF Ch.14 before entering or leaving, and that harbour light signals MUST be obeyed. Contact "Yacht Club Marina" on Ch.80 for berthing instructions, but otherwise continue to monitor Ch.14 for harbour traffic.
Overnight berthing is arranged on the RN&SYC pontoons. A group discounted rate for one night has been negotiated, and is included in the entry fee (see Entry Form). Prize-giving and supper will take place at the Royal Norfolk & Suffolk Yacht Club. Please book for the supper with the Royal Norfolk & Suffolk YC direct.

All EAORA and Haven Series entries with a valid IRC will race for the Haven Series Ptarmigan Trophy and also all entries will compete for the Britannia Trophy using a Haven Handicap.

Entries Close:
Friday 7th August 2015

2052, 1183, 1536, 1543 or Imray C25, C28

Entry Fee:
£45.00 - Late entries accepted at the discretion of the Organising Authority. The entry fee includes berthing for the Saturday night. Cheques should be made out to 'The Haven Series' and posted to the Haven Series Secretary at 17 Beach Lane, Alderton, Woodbridge, Suffolk IP12 3BU

Race HQ:
Haven Series Secretary, Secretary, Fiona Meikle; 17 Beach Lane, Alderton, Woodbridge, Suffolk IP12 3BU
Telephone: 01394 410495 Email:

Afloat Race Officer:
An “Afloat Race Officer” will be designated to receive declarations and/or protests, and for co-ordination and communication purposes. Details will be repeated on VHF Channel 72 before the start.

Return to race programme

Call 01621 740370
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 01473 689111
Contact via email
Website URL
Call 0845 450 5555
Contact via email
Website URL